Contact

DKE  German Commission for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies of DIN and VDE
Stresemannallee 15
60596 Frankfurt am Main
Germany

Phone: +49 69 6308-0
Fax: +49 69 6308-9863
E-Mail: dke@vde.com

DKE
2018-03-27

Organization

The first electrotechnical safety regulation was issued more than a hundred years ago. Today, experts working in or with the DKE collaborate to create standards that guarantee the safety of electrical products and systems. As a competence centre for electrotechnical standardization, we represent German interests in European and international standardization organizations.

The DKE business organization

DKE-Struktur-2020

Structure of the DKE

The DKE business organization is divided into four divisions:

The Technology division works with experts from industry, science, trade and politics on current and future standardization topics. In this way, we will continue to help secure Germany's position in the future as one of the leading economic nations. The increasing convergence of technology requires new thinking: in addition to traditional product standards, it is also important to improve the networking of system experts and to make innovative topics such as cybersecurity accessible on all platforms.

DKE supports companies in using standardization as a strategic tool. The important work in the standardization committees is complemented in many ways: by development projects, thematically relevant events such as workshops and webinars as well as numerous other measures for the application and development of technical rules. For example, development and support projects are interlinked with standardization work in order to yield synergies for the rapid and application-oriented implementation of innovative topics in new standards or specifications.

In addition to Technology, the internal Production and Finance & Controlling divisions are responsible for implementing standardization projects, IT support, etc.

The External Relations & Support division expands the already well-established national and international standardization networks and deals e.g. with strategic issues concerning the entire standardization policy. This division supports the management bodies of IEC and CENELEC and monitors developments relevant to standardization in more than 70 nations worldwide.

Our structure

Standardization is a joint effort: companies and organizations in industry, public authorities and other institutions that support the work of the DKE both financially and by sending technical experts, together constitute the DKE union of sponsors. The Council (LA) lays down the basic principles of the DKE. The chairman of the Council represents the DKE, both within the organization and in public. The Council is assisted by advisory boards that are responsible for the major areas under its purview:

  • Technical Advisory Board International and National Coordination (TBINK)
  • Technical Advisory Board ETSI (TBETSI)
  • Technical Advisory Board Evaluation for Conformity (TBKON)
  • Advisory Board Technology (BKT)
  • Finance Advisory Board

The Council also represents the German committees of the IEC and CENELEC.

The way we work

Exports account for around 90% of total sales in the German electrical industry. Accordingly, the work of the DKE is internationally oriented towards the IEC, and nationally structured in such a way that the DKE bodies are generally assigned as counterparts to the international bodies, while also taking CENELEC into account. Roughly 80 % of European standards correspond to the results of the IEC work: this demand-oriented focus on international standardization also constitutes the basis for ongoing development of the internal European market – yet without being confined to the markets of Europe. To help develop innovative topics and to coordinate cross-product system requirements in the converging technologies, all divisions of the DKE and their standardization bodies work closely with other organizations, the VDE technical societies and the DIN bodies.

The basis of our work

The DKE German Commission for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies of DIN and VDE was established in 1970 by the VDE and DIN. It operates on the basis of the Standards Agreement of 1975 between the Federal Republic of Germany and DIN.

The DKE constitutes a joint organization of DIN German Institute for Standardization and the VDE Association for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies – the VDE is responsible for the daily operations of the DKE.

The standards issued by the DKE are part of the German collection of standards. If the standard in question is a safety specification, it is also included in the VDE Specifications Code of safety standards.

The results of the standardization work by the IEC and CENELEC, along with the European standards of ETSI, are published in Germany by the DKE in accordance with the rules stipulated by DIN. The crucial elements of standardization in this respect are the public enquiry procedure and the principle of consensus. In its standardization activities, the DKE actively provides needs-based support for the drafting of national, European and international electrical, electronic and information technology standards designed to promote innovation and assist development.

If safety and environmental aspects are involved, regardless of the technical bodies of the DKE, the results of the standardization work may also be published as VDE application guides, with or without public enquiry procedures.

Our Mission

ENCOURAGING DIALOGUE

The DKE is the platform for results-oriented dialogue towards the development of generally accepted electrotechnical standards. With a focus on consensus, we bring together the know-how, information and interests of all relevant interested circles and publish the results as part of the German standards collection and the VDE Specifications Code of safety standards.

SAFEGUARDING EXPERTISE

The DKE is the official German expertise centre for electrotechnical standardization. We represent German interests in the European and international standardization organizations and implement the results of international standardization work in the national standards collection.

ENHANCING COMMITMENT

The DKE lives from the commitment and honest cooperation of everyone involved. Technical experts contribute their know-how, companies provide resources, the DKE staff organizes the processes efficiently and provides corresponding support with a wide range of services. Our joint objective consists in acknowledged, market-oriented, state-of-the-art standards. And progress as the result of positive change.

Our goals

SAFETY

Overall safety of electrotechnical products and installations – and their related services and labour protection.

COMPATIBILITY

System compatibility of products and installations in networked systems and applications.

MARKET ORIENTATION

Accelerated diffusion of new technologies on the market by supporting information processes via standards and specifications

CONSENSUS BUILDING

Bringing together the knowledge and the interests of all associated parties, building consensus around controversial technical issues.

REPRESENTATION OF INTERESTS

Representation of German interests in the development of international and European standards in order to eliminate obstacles to trade and to open up markets worldwide.

QUALITY

Maintaining a high level of up-to-date technical rules in a consistent and widely accepted portfolio of standards which are oriented towards market and consumer requirements.

CONFORMITY ASSESSMENT

Worldwide acknowledgement of conformity assessment results.

EXPANDING THE HORIZON

Encouraging dialogue, safeguarding expertise and enhancing commitment: these are the maxims of the DKE and the factors involved in evolving the full power of standardization: for comprehensive safety of electrotechnical products in the interests of the consumer and the environment. Global opening of the markets by augmenting system compatibility and removing technical trade barriers. Successful development and swift implementation of technical progress for the sake of society as a whole.

Our history

The first safety regulations are created

  • In 1893, the VDE’s first committee developed “Regulations for the erection of electrical low-voltage systems”. Two years later, “safety regulations for high-voltage systems” followed.
  • In January of 1896, the Elektrotechnischen Zeitschrift (ETZ (Electrotechnical Magazine)) published the precursor to the current DIN VDE 0100 standard “Erecting low-voltage electrical systems”.
  • In 1904, VDE presenteds its first “Normalien-Buch” (Book of Standards).

Electrical engineering in Germany begins to organize itself

  • In 1879, Werner von Siemens and the Imperial Postmaster General Heinrich von Stephan founded the first “Elektrotechnischer Verein” (Association of Electrical Engineers). It covered all areas of electrical engineering and set itself the task of promoting and further developing the technical applications of electricity and cultivating the scientific basis. Other electrotechnical associations are formed.
  • In 1893, the representatives of the electrotechnical associations merged their organizations into one: the “Verband Deutscher Elektrotechniker” ((VDE) Association of German Electrotechnicians).

National and international standardizations are formed

  • The first national standardization institute, the “Engineering Standards Committee” (today the the British Standards Institution) was founded in Great Britain in 1901.
  • In 1906, with VDE’s participation, the “International Electrotechnical Commission” (IEC) was launched.
  • In 1917, the “Normenausschuss der Deutschen Industrie” (German Industrial Standards Committee) was founded and renamed as the “Deutscher Normenausschuß” (German Standards Committee) 9 years later.
  • In 1920, Austria laid the foundation stone for the “Österreichisches Normungsinstitut” (Austrian Standardization Institute).
  • In 1970, DIN and VDE merged all German electrotechnical associations into the Deutschen Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik ((DKE) German Commission for Electrical, Electronic and Information Technologies). The only competent body for electrotechnical standardization in the then Federal Republic of Germany (FRG) and for representing German interests on the international level.
  • Since 1975, DKE’s position has been legally acknowledged in the “Standards Agreement” concluded between DIN and the FRG and from then on, DIN has been called the “Deutsches Institut für Normung” (German Institute for Standardization).

Alle Veranstaltungen

Mehr erfahren

DKE  Deutsche Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik in DIN und VDE

Stresemannallee 15
60596 Frankfurt am Main

Tel.: +49 69 6308-0
Fax: +49 69 6308-9863
E-Mail: dke@vde.com

DKE-News

Mehr erfahren
DKE
27.03.2018 Seite 6993 0

Organisation

Die erste Vorschrift zur elektrotechnischen Sicherheit entstand vor mehr als hundert Jahren. Heute erstellen Experten rund um die DKE in Gemeinschaftsarbeit Normen und Standards, die die Sicherheit elektrotechnischer Produkte und Anlagen gewährleisten. Als Kompetenzzentrum für elektrotechnische Normung vertreten wir die deutschen Interessen in den europäischen und internationalen Normungsorganisationen.

Die DKE-Geschäftsstelle

DKE-Struktur-2018

Struktur der DKE

Die DKE-Geschäftsstelle ist in vier Arbeitsbereiche aufgeteilt:

Der Bereich Technology bearbeitet mit den Experten aus Industrie, Wissenschaft, Handwerk und Politik inhaltlich die aktuellen und zukünftigen Normungs- und Standardisierungsthemen. So tragen wir auch in Zukunft dazu bei, Deutschlands Stellung als eine der führenden Wirtschaftsnationen zu sichern. Dabei erfordert die weiter zunehmende Konvergenz der Technik neues Denken: Neben den klassischen Produktnormen gilt es, auch Systemaspekte besser unter den Experten zu vernetzen und innovative Themen wie z. B. Cybersecurity allen Plattformen zugänglich zu machen.

Die DKE unterstützt Unternehmen darin, die Normung als ein strategisches Instrument zu nutzen. Denn die wichtige Arbeit in den Normungsgremien wird vielfältig ergänzt: durch Entwicklungsprojekte, thematisch relevante Veranstaltungen wie Workshops und Webinare sowie durch zahlreiche weitere Angebote für die Anwendung und Erarbeitung technischer Regeln. So sind beispielsweise Entwicklungs- und Förderprojekte mit der Normungsarbeit verzahnt, um Synergien für eine schnelle und anwendungsgerechte Umsetzung von innovativen Themen in neuen Normen oder Spezifikationen zu gewinnen.

Neben dem Bereich Technology sind die beiden Bereiche Production und Finance & Controlling als interne Services für die Umsetzung von Normungsprojekten, IT-Unterstützung etc. zuständig.

Der Bereich External Relations & Support erweitert die bereits sehr gut etablierten nationalen und internationalen Netzwerke der Normung und befasst sich u. a. mit strategischen Fragen der gesamten Normungspolitik. Dieser Bereich unterstützt die Managementgremien von IEC und CENELEC und beobachtet die normungsrelevanten Entwicklungen in mehr als 70 Nationen weltweit.

Unsere Struktur

Normung ist eine Gemeinschaftsleistung: Unternehmen und Organisationen der Wirtschaft, Behörden und weitere Institutionen, die die Arbeit der DKE sowohl finanziell als auch durch Technische Experten unterstützen, bilden die Förderer- Gemeinschaft der DKE. Der Lenkungsausschuss (LA) legt die Richtlinien der DKE fest. Der Vorsitzende des LA vertritt die DKE nach innen und außen. Der LA wird in wesentlichen Themenkomplexen durch Beiräte unterstützt:

Darüber hinaus repräsentiert der LA auch die Deutschen Komitees der IEC und des CENELEC.

Unsere Arbeitsweise

In der deutschen Elektroindustrie hat das Exportgeschäft einen Anteil von ca. 90 % am Gesamtumsatz. Entsprechend ist die Arbeit der DKE international auf die IEC ausgerichtet und national mit grundsätzlich spiegelbildlicher Strukturierung der DKE-Normungsgremien – unter Berücksichtigung des CENELEC – organisiert. Rund 80 % der Europäischen Normen entsprechen den Ergebnissen der IEC-Arbeit: Diese bedarfsorientierte Fokussierung auf die internationale Normung bildet gleichzeitig auch die Basis zur weiteren Verwirklichung des Europäischen Binnenmarktes – und das ohne eine Begrenzung auf die Märkte Europas. Zur Erschließung innovativer Themenfelder sowie zur Koordinierung produktübergreifender Systemerfordernisse bei den konvergierenden Technologien wirken alle Bereiche der DKE mit deren Normungsgremien eng mit anderen Organisationen, den VDE-Fachgesellschaften sowie den Gremien von DIN zusammen.

Unsere Grundlagen

Die DKE Deutsche Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik in DIN und VDE wurde 1970 von VDE und DIN gegründet. Sie arbeitet auf Basis des „Normenvertrages“ von 1975 zwischen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und DIN.

Die DKE ist ein Organ von DIN Deutsches Institut für Normung e.V. und gleichzeitig ein Geschäftsbereich des VDE VERBAND DER ELEKTROTECHNIK ELEKTRONIK INFORMATIONSTECHNIK e.V. – sie wird vom VDE getragen.

Die von der DKE herausgegebenen Normen sind Bestandteil des Deutschen Normenwerks. Sofern es sich um elektrotechnische Sicherheitsbestimmungen handelt, werden diese gleichzeitig in das VDE-Vorschriftenwerk aufgenommen.

Die Ergebnisse der Normungsarbeit der IEC und des CENELEC sowie die Europäischen Normen des ETSI werden durch die DKE entsprechend den Regeln von DIN in Deutschland veröffentlicht. Unverzichtbare Elemente der Normungsarbeit sind dabei das öffentliche Einspruchsverfahren und das Konsensprinzip. Bei der Erstellung innovationsfördernder und entwicklungsbegleitender Standards für die Elektrotechnik, Elektronik und Informationstechnik auf nationaler, europäischer oder internationaler Ebene arbeitet die DKE aktiv mit und fördert so die bedarfsgerechte Standardisierungsarbeit.

Werden Sicherheits- und Umweltaspekte berührt, können die Ergebnisse der Standardisierungsarbeit auch unabhängig von Normungsgremien der DKE mit und ohne öffentliche Einspruchsverfahren als VDE-Anwendungsregeln veröffentlicht werden.

Unsere Mission

DIALOG FÖRDERN

Die DKE ist die Plattform für den ergebnisorientierten Dialog zur Entwicklung von allgemein akzeptierten elektrotechnischen Normen und Standards. Dabei führen wir Wissen, Informationen und Interessen aller relevanten Fachkreise konsensorientiert zusammen und veröffentlichen die Ergebnisse als Bestandteil des Deutschen Normenwerkes und des VDE-Vorschriftenwerkes.

KOMPETENZ SICHERN

Die DKE ist das offizielle deutsche Kompetenzzentrum für elektrotechnische Normung. Wir vertreten die deutschen Interessen in den europäischen und internationalen Normungsorganisationen und setzen die Ergebnisse internationaler Normungsarbeit in das nationale Normenwerk um.

ENGAGEMENT STÄRKEN

Die DKE lebt vom Engagement und der fairen Zusammenarbeit aller Beteiligten: Technische Experten bringen ihr Wissen ein, Unternehmen stellen Ressourcen bereit, die Mitarbeiter der DKE organisieren die Prozesse effizient und unterstützen mit umfangreichen Dienstleistungen. Unser gemeinsames Ziel sind anerkannte, marktorientierte und technisch aktuelle Regelungen. Und Fortschritt als Resultat positiver Veränderungen.

Unsere Ziele

SICHERHEIT

Umfassende Sicherheit elektrotechnischer Produkte und Anlagen sowie der damit verbundenen Dienstleistungen und im Arbeitsschutz.

KOMPATIBILITÄT

Systemkompatibilität von Produkten und Anlagen in vernetzten Systemen und Anwendungen.

MARKTORIENTIERUNG

Beschleunigte Marktdurchdringung neuer Technologien durch Unterstützung der Informationsprozesse mittels Normen und Spezifikationen.

KONSENSBILDUNG

Zusammenführen des Wissens und der Interessen aller betroffenen Fachkreise sowie Konsensbildung auch in kontrovers diskutierten Sachfragen.

INTERESSENVERTRETUNG

Vertretung der deutschen Interessen bei der Weiterentwicklung der internationalen und europäischen Normen zum Abbau von Handelshemmnissen und zur weltweiten Öffnung der Märkte.

QUALITÄT

Qualitativ hochwertige und aktuelle technische Regeln in einem konsistenten und breit akzeptierten Normenwerk mit markt- und bedarfsorientierter Ausrichtung.

KONFORMITÄTSBEWERTUNG

Weltweite Anerkennung von Konformitätsbewertungsergebnissen.

HORIZONT ERWEITERN

Dialog fördern, Kompetenz sichern und Engagement stärken – das ist die Maxime der DKE. Durch diese Faktoren entfaltet sich die volle Kraft der Normung: umfassende Sicherheit elektrotechnischer Produkte für Verbraucher und Umwelt. Weltweite Öffnung der Märkte durch erhöhte Systemkompatibilität und Abbau von technischen Handelshemmnissen. Erfolgreiche Entwicklung und zügige Implementierung technischen Fortschritts zum Wohle der gesamten Gesellschaft.

Unsere Geschichte

Erste Sicherheitsregeln entstehen

  • 1893 erarbeitete das erste technische Komitee des VDE „Vorschriften für das Errichten elektrischer Niederspannungsanlagen. Zwei Jahre später folgten Sicherheitsvorschriften für elektrische Starkstromanlagen“.
  • 1896 im Januar veröffentlichte die Elektrotechnischen Zeitschrift (ETZ) den Vorläufer der heutigen DIN VDE 0100 „Errichten von Niederspannungsanlagen“.
  • 1904 präsentierte der VDE sein erstes „Normalien-Buch“[4].

Elektrotechnik in Deutschland organisiert sich

  • 1879 gründeten Werner von Siemens und der Kaiserliche Generalpostmeister Heinrich von Stephan den weltweit ersten „Elektrotechnischen Verein“. Er umfasste alle Gebiete der Elektrotechnik und machte es sich zur Aufgabe, die technischen Anwendungen der Elektrizität zu fördern und weiterzuentwickeln sowie die wissenschaftliche Basis zu pflegen. Weitere elektrotechnische Vereine entstanden.
  • 1893 fassten die Vertreter der elektrotechnischen Vereine ihre Organisationen in einer einzigen zusammen:  im „Verband Deutscher Elektrotechniker“ (VDE).

Nationale und internationale Normungsorganisationen formieren sich

  • 1901 wurde in Großbritannien das erste nationale Normungsinstitut namens „Engineering Standards Committee“ (heute British Standards Institution) begründet.
  • 1906 wurde unter VDE-Beteiligung die „International Electrotechnical Commission“ (IEC) aus der Taufe gehoben.
  • 1917 entstand in Deutschland der „Normenausschuss der Deutschen Industrie“, 9 Jahre später umbenannt in „Deutscher Normenausschuß“.
  • 1920 legte Österreich den Grundstein für das „Österreichische Normungsinstitut“.
  • 1970 vereinten DIN und VDE alle deutschen elektrotechnischen Vereine in der Deutschen Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik (DKE). In der BRD die einzige verantwortliche Stelle für elektrotechnische Normung und Vertretung deutscher Interessen auf internationaler Ebene.
  • Seit 1975 ist die Stellung der DKE durch den zwischen DIN und der BRD geschlossenen „Normenvertrag“ gesetzlich anerkannt, und DIN nennt sich fortan „Deutsches Institut für Normung“.