Contact

DKE  German Commission for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies of DIN and VDE
Stresemannallee 15
60596 Frankfurt am Main
Germany

Phone: +49 69 6308-0
Fax: +49 69 6308-9863
E-Mail: dke@vde.com

Fertigungshalle mit Industrierobotern
Nataliya Hora / Fotolia
2018-04-06 212 0 TOP

Industry 4.0

Industry 4.0 is all about the close integration of machinery and plant engineering, automation engineering and IT. One of its defining characteristics is the further development and use of modern automation, communication and information technologies intended to open up new production and logistics possibilities for users.

Germany is one of the world's leading industrial nations and is competing to provide the best Industry 4.0 solutions. Industrial production and production-related services in Germany account for more than half the country's total economic output. Germany is leading the way in many digital innovations for production technology, but is exposed to increasing competition. In order to gain an edge in the race for the products and markets of tomorrow, it is imperative for Germany to adopt an integrated approach and engage in interdisciplinary cooperation. Standards are essential for the successful global marketing and practical implementation of Industry 4.0 solutions. A constellation of stakeholders from the business, science and political fields has been established in Germany and is described below.

Looking at the technical debate surrounding Industry 4.0, it becomes clear that human beings will still be working in the intelligent production facilities of the future. The role of people in the socio-technical work system thus deserves special consideration. People will continue to play a central role in production – as participants in the manufacturing process, as machine operators, maintenance engineers, production planners or programmers. In order to design an efficient and flexible yet sustainably successful work system it is important to incorporate people with all their abilities, skills, capabilities and capacity limits into the design.

The fourth industrial revolution and its influencing factors – such as new types of contracts, the networking and exchange of data and a changed working environment – also need to be analysed from a legal perspective. Laws provide the framework within which standards operate, but the influence of standards also feeds back into law-making. This interaction must be taken into account above all in shaping the standards.

Standardization Council Industry 4.0

German industry announced the establishment of the Industry 4.0 Standardization Council at the 2016 Hanover Fair. The goal of this initiative (based on Bitkom, DIN, DKE/VDE, VDMA and ZVEI) is to initiate digital production standards and to coordinate them nationally and internationally.

SCI 4.0 liaises between industry and standardization, i.e. mediates between the members of the Industrie 4.0 platform and the various standards developing organizations (SDOs). SCI 4.0 plays an important bundling role here. The aim is to develop ambitious yet feasible recommendations for action for all participants, including the national and international initiation and coordination of suitable standards. A further aim is to accelerate the relevant standardization processes and strengthen the international competitiveness of Germany as an industrial base.

Icon bitte beachten

What are the aims of Industry 4.0 standards?

Icon bitte beachten

Making complexity manageable

The intelligent roll-out of Industry 4.0 is characterized by an unprecedented level of automation with extensive use of the Internet. Different systems have to communicate and interact with each other. Interfaces must be harmonized for this to succeed. This in turn presupposes that the design of these interfaces is based on standards that are properly coordinated internationally.

The main human roles are those of developers and users who control, monitor and, if necessary, intervene in the ongoing processes. Interaction and communication between factories (and their machines) transcend company and operational boundaries. Companies from a wide range of industries, such as suppliers, logistics companies and manufacturers, are thus networked in a value creation system.

Consumers now take the following connections for granted: USB cables which connect the printer to the laptop, Bluetooth technology which transfers music files from the MP3 player to the mobile phone and back. The communication functions more or less perfectly – because the manufacturers of the various components have agreed on common interfaces. This is a standardization process which pre-defines the mechanisms for cooperation and which now awaits industry. So-called reference architectures are defined for this purpose: ideal models that provide the framework for the development, integration and operation of the relevant technical systems.

Developing a common language and descriptions

A reference architecture, i.e. a uniform concept and method structure, forms the basis of this. It creates a common structure and language for the uniform description and specification of concrete system architectures for applications. The Industry 4.0 platform has yielded a proposal for a neutral reference architecture model RAMI 4.0 which is the basis for further work of the platform. Building on this, a description of what constitutes an Industry 4.0 component and how this can be encapsulated in an administrative shell is now required in collaboration with the expert committees. In addition, the reference architecture model can be used as the basis for developing an Industry 4.0 ontology, grammar and semantics, and thus a common language. This requires cooperation across sector and industry boundaries. An integrated approach to Industry 4.0 and its ontology is arising through the cooperation of the mechanical and plant engineering, automation technology, IT and manufacturing application industries.

Contact

Dr. Jens Gayko
Icon Zahnrad

What is the focus of Industry 4.0 standards?

Icon Zahnrad

Standardization is of central importance for the future success of the Industry 4.0 project. Industry 4.0 requires unprecedented integration of systems across domain and hierarchy boundaries, and life cycle phases. This is only possible on the basis of consensus-based standards. Standardization is a joint task that is self-managed by the stakeholders (users, occupational safety organizations, trade unions, public authorities, regulatory institutions, other non-governmental organizations, environmental protection organizations, consumer protection agencies, industry, science and research), their experts and DIN and DKE employees.

Automation engineering

Until now, the structuring and organization of technical-organizational business processes has been the exclusive domain of users, application providers and tool manufacturers. The application areas include: diagnostics, maintenance, life cycle management, system integration, optimization, security management. IT security is also a cross-cutting automation issue.

IT and functional safety

When safety-based control systems perform their safety functions reliably, we speak of functional safety (FS). IT security, on the other hand, is all about the protection of IT systems from unauthorized actions. Although IT security is different from functional safety, there are certain similarities: for example, if the system concerned is a security-based control system, any impairment of its function also affects (functional) safety. It is important to close these safety gaps, especially in view of the current convergence of technologies. In the case of threats to IT security that have consequences for functional safety, it is practically impossible to assess the risk and translate this into an expected failure rate. It has not yet been possible to arrive at a reliable prediction of expected failure rates.

This was reason enough for VDE experts to work together in order to find a generic solution to this important yet complex problem.

Other related fields and disciplines are:

  • eMobility
  • Open Source
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Smart Grid
  • Smart Health
  • Smart Farming
  • Platform Economy / Digital Value Creation Models
Icon Frage und Antwort

What everyday benefits are to be gained from Industry 4.0 standards?

Icon Frage und Antwort

Orientation to the new innovation platform

"Germany specializes in research, development and the manufacture of production technologies and is the world's leading supplier of factory equipment."

This introductory sentence from the implementation recommendations of the Industry 4.0 Working Group formed by the Industry and Science Research Union provides a good indication of the importance of this industrial sector for Germany. It applies equally to many other industrial regions in Europe. Industry 4.0 standardization is an essential element in the concrete implementation of the vision. Therefore, the German standardization organizations now have to address the topic and coordinate preparation of Industry 4.0 at the content and organizational level in order to support the current industrial, political and research activities as effectively as possible. Once again, the support of practitioners from research and industry is needed in order to integrate all current developments into the standardization processes at an early stage and to accord them the attention they deserve.

DKE's Industry 4.0 tasks

Industry 4.0 is the new industrial revolution and holds huge value-added potential of over 200 billion euros in Germany alone.

DKE has been working for years with over 800 technical experts on building the foundations of the future of industry because Industry 4.0 needs networking, safety, communication, intelligence and trust – for technological progress, economic success and safety for people and the environment.

Shape the future of industry together with us!

Fertigungshalle mit Industrierobotern
Die neue industrielle Revolution
Industrie 4.0 Roadmap V3 Titelbild
Normungs-Roadmap Industrie 4.0
Mehr erfahren

Alle Veranstaltungen

Mehr erfahren

Kontakt

DKE  Deutsche Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik in DIN und VDE
Stresemannallee 15

60596 Frankfurt am Main

Tel.: +49 69 6308-0
Fax: +49 69 6308-9863
E-Mail: dke@vde.com

DKE-Telefonservice

DKE-Kontaktformular

DKE-Login meine.dke.de

DKE-News

Mehr erfahren

Industrie 4.0

Industrie 4.0 zeichnet sich durch eine starke Vernetzung von Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, Automatisierungstechnik und IT aus. Ein Merkmal ist die Weiterentwicklung und Anwendung von modernen Automatisierungs-, Kommunikations- und Informationstechnologien, die neue Möglichkeiten für Anwender in der Produktion und Logistik eröffnen sollen.

Deutschland gehört zu den weltweit führenden Industriestandorten und steht im Wettbewerb um die besten Lösungen für Industrie 4.0. Die industrielle Produktion und produktionsnahen Dienstleistungen in Deutschland erzielen mehr als die Hälfte der gesamten Wirtschaftsleistung. Bei vielen digitalen Innovationen in der Produktionstechnik steht Deutschland an führender Stelle, ist aber zunehmend einem starken Wettbewerb ausgesetzt. Um für den Wettlauf um die Produkte und Märkte von morgen gerüstet zu sein, sind ein ganzheitliches Vorgehen und eine interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit in Deutschland unausweichlich. Für eine erfolgreiche globale Vermarktung und Umsetzung der Industrie 4.0-Lösungen in die Praxis sind Normen und Standards unerlässlich. In Deutschland hat sich eine Konstellation aus Akteuren aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Politik etabliert, welche im Folgenden beschrieben wird.

Betrachtet man den weiteren fachlichen Diskurs, wird deutlich, dass die Intelligente Produktionsstätte im Rahmen von Industrie 4.0 keineswegs menschenleer sein wird. Die Rolle des Menschen im soziotechnischen Arbeitssystem verdient also besondere Betrachtung. Sei es als Akteur im Produktionsablauf, als Bediener von Maschinen, als Instandhalter, Produktionsplaner oder Programmierer – Menschen spielen auch weiterhin eine zentrale Rolle in der Produktion. Um ein effizientes, flexibles, aber auch nachhaltig erfolgreiches Arbeitssystem zu gestalten, ist es wichtig, den Menschen mit seinen Fähigkeiten, Fertigkeiten, seinem Leistungsvermögen und seinen Leistungsgrenzen in die Gestaltung mit einzubeziehen.

Die vierte industrielle Revolution und ihre Einflussfaktoren, wie beispielsweise neue Arten von Vertragsschlüssen, die Vernetzung und der Austausch von Daten und ein verändertes Arbeitsumfeld, erfordern ebenso eine Betrachtung aus rechtlicher Perspektive. Das Recht gibt nicht nur den Rahmen vor, in dem sich Normen und Standards bewegen, Normen und Standards wirken auch rekursiv in das Recht zurück. Diese Wechselwirkung gilt es bei ihrer Gestaltung besonders zu berücksichtigen.

Standardization Council Industrie 4.0

Zur Hannover Messe 2016 verkündete die deutsche Industrie die Gründung des Standardization Council Industrie 4.0. Diese auf Bitkom, DIN, DKE/VDE, VDMA und ZVEI zurückgehende Initiative verfolgt das Ziel, Normen und Standards der digitalen Produktion zu initiieren und diese national sowie international zu koordinieren.

Der SCI 4.0 übernimmt hierbei die Koordination zwischen Industrie und Standardisierung, vermittelt also zwischen den Mitgliedern der Plattform Industrie 4.0 und den diversen Normungs- und Standardisierungsorganisationen (SDO). Dem SCI 4.0 kommt hierbei eine bedeutende, bündelnde Funktion zu. Es sollen ambitionierte, aber auch durchführbare Handlungsempfehlungen für alle Akteure erarbeitet werden, inklusive der nationalen sowie internationalen Initiierung und Koordination geeigneter Normen sowie Standards. Zudem soll eine Beschleunigung der relevanten Standardisierungsprozesse und Stärkung der internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Industriestandortes Deutschland entwickelt werden.

Was sind die Ziele von Normen und Standards im Bereich Industrie 4.0?

Komplexität beherrschbar machen

Die intelligente Industrie 4.0 wird geprägt sein von einem bisher nicht gekannten Ausmaß an Automation unter massiver Nutzung des Internets. Verschiedenste Systeme müssen miteinander kommunizieren und interagieren. Damit das gelingt, müssen Schnittstellen harmonisiert werden. Dies setzt wiederum voraus, dass sich die Ausgestaltung dieser Schnittstellen an möglichst international abgestimmten Normen und Standards orientiert.

Die Rolle des Menschen ist zunächst die des Entwicklers und Nutzers, der die laufenden Prozesse kontrolliert, überwacht und, falls erforderlich, steuernd eingreift. Die Interaktion und Kommunikation zwischen den Fabriken mit ihren Maschinen geht über Betriebs- und Unternehmensgrenzen hinaus. Firmen verschiedenster Branchen, wie beispielsweise Zulieferer, Logistikunternehmen und Hersteller, sind auf diese Weise in einem Wertschöpfungssystem miteinander vernetzt.

Verbraucher stellen diesen Zusammenhang schon gar nicht mehr in Frage: das USB-Kabel verbindet den Drucker mit dem Laptop, die Bluetooth-Technologie transferiert Musikdateien vom MP3-Player auf das Mobiltelefon und zurück. Die Kommunikation funktioniert beinahe reibungslos – weil die Hersteller der verschiedenen Komponenten sich auf gemeinsame Schnittstellen geeinigt haben. Dies ist ein Standardisierungsprozess, der nun auch der Industrie bevorsteht und der im Vorhinein die Mechanismen der Zusammenarbeit festlegt. Dafür werden sogenannte Referenzarchitekturen definiert: idealtypische Modelle, die den Rahmen für die Entwicklung, Integration und den Betrieb der relevanten technischen Systeme vorgeben.

Gemeinsame Sprache und Beschreibungen entwickeln

Eine Referenzarchitektur, also eine einheitliche Begriffs- und Methodenstruktur, bildet dafür die Basis. Sie schafft eine gemeinsame Struktur und Sprache für die einheitliche Beschreibung und Spezifikation von konkreten Systemarchitekturen für die Anwendung. Aus der Plattform Industrie 4.0 heraus besteht ein Vorschlag für ein lösungsneutrales Referenzarchitekturmodell RAMI 4.0, das Grundlage für die weitere Arbeit der Plattform ist. Darauf aufbauend ist nun im Schulterschluss mit den Fachgremien eine Beschreibung erforderlich, was eine Industrie 4.0-Komponente ausmacht und wie sie in eine Verwaltungsschale gekapselt werden kann. Außerdem kann ausgehend von dem Referenzarchitekturmodell eine Industrie 4.0-Ontologie, eine Grammatik und Semantik, und damit eine gemeinsame Sprache, erarbeitet werden. Dafür ist die Zusammenarbeit über Sektor- und Branchengrenzen hinweg gefragt. Durch das gemeinsame Vorgehen von Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, Automatisierungstechnik, IT-Wirtschaft und produzierenden Anwendungsindustrien wird ein ganzheitlicher Blick auf die Industrie 4.0 und ihre Ontologie erreicht.

Kontakt

Dr. Jens Gayko

An welchen Stellen setzen Normen und Standards im Bereich Industrie 4.0 an?

Für das Gelingen des Zukunftsprojekts Industrie 4.0 ist die Normung und Standardisierung von zentraler Bedeutung. Industrie 4.0 erfordert eine nie dagewesene Integration der Systeme über Domänengrenzen, Hierarchiegrenzen und Lebenszyklusphasen hinweg. Dies ist nur auf der Grundlage von konsensbasierten Normen und Standards möglich. Die Normungsarbeit ist eine Gemeinschaftsaufgabe, die in Selbstverwaltung von den interessierten Kreisen (Anwender, Arbeitsschutz, Gewerkschaften, öffentliche Hand, regelsetzende Institutionen, sonstige Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen, Umweltschutz, Verbraucherschutz, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Forschung), deren Experten und den Mitarbeitern von DIN und DKE erfüllt wird.

Automatisierungstechnik

Die Strukturierung und Organisation der technisch-organisatorischen Geschäftsprozesse war bisher ausschließlich eine Domäne der Anwender, Applikationsanbieter und Toolhersteller. Zu den Anwendungsbereichen gehören: Diagnose, Instandhaltung, Life-Cycle-Management, Systemintegration, Optimierung, Security Management. Als Querschnittsthema setzt in der Automation darüber hinaus auch die IT-Sicherheit.

IT und Funktionale Sicherheit

Wenn sicherheitsgerichtete Steuerungen ihre Sicherheitsfunktionen zuverlässig erbringen, spricht man von funktionaler Sicherheit (FS). IT-Sicherheit hingegen beschäftigt sich mit dem Schutz von IT-Systemen vor unerlaubten Handlungen. Obwohl IT-Sicherheit etwas anderes ist als funktionale Sicherheit, lässt sich schnell eine Verbindung herstellen: Ist das betrachtete System beispielweise eine sicherheitsgerichtete Steuerung, beeinflusst jede Beeinträchtigung seiner Funktion auch gleichzeitig die (funktionale) Sicherheit. Gerade im Hinblick auf die aktuellen konvergenten Technologien gilt es, diese Sicherheitslücken zu schließen. Bei Bedrohungen der IT-Sicherheit, die Konsequenzen für die funktionale Sicherheit bedeuten, ist es praktisch unmöglich, die Gefahr abzuschätzen und in eine zu erwartende Ausfallrate zu übersetzen. Es ist eine bislang ungelöste Aufgabe, in diesem Kontext zu einer belastbaren Aussage über die zu erwartenden Ausfälle zu kommen.

Grund genug, dass im VDE bei diesem wichtigen Thema Fachleute zusammenarbeiten, um für diese komplexe Problematik eine generische Lösung zu finden.

Weitere verwandte Felder und Disziplinen sind:

  • E-Mobilität
  • Open Source
  • Künstliche Intelligenz
  • Smart Grid
  • Smart Health
  • Smart Farming
  • Plattformökonomie / Digitale Wertschöpfungsmodelle

Wie profitieren wir in unserem Alltag von Normen und Standards im Bereich Industrie 4.0?

Orientierung an der neuen Innovationsplattform

„Deutschland ist spezialisiert auf die Erforschung, Entwicklung und Fertigung von Produktionstechnologien und der führende Fabrikausrüster der Welt."

Dieser einleitende Satz aus den Umsetzungsempfehlungen des von der Forschungsunion Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft gebildeten Arbeitskreises Industrie 4.0 kennzeichnet treffend die Wichtigkeit dieses Industriebereiches für die Bundesrepublik. Er gilt gleichermaßen für viele andere Industrieregionen in Europa. Normung und Standardisierung zu Industrie 4.0 sind ein wesentliches Element bei der konkreten Umsetzung der Vision. Daher müssen sich die in Deutschland etablierten Normungsorganisationen mit dem Thema auseinandersetzen und Industrie 4.0 in Abstimmung thematisch und organisatorisch vorbereiten, um die derzeitigen Aktivitäten von Industrie, Politik und Forschung möglichst effizient zu unterstützen. Dabei braucht es einmal mehr die Unterstützung von Praktikern aus Forschung und Wirtschaft, um alle aktuellen Entwicklungen frühzeitig in die Normungsprozesse einzubringen und diese angemessen zu berücksichtigen.

Relevante News und Verlautbarungen

Die Aufgaben der DKE im Bereich Industrie 4.0

Industrie 4.0 ist die neue Industrielle Revolution und bedeutet alleine in Deutschland ein riesiges Wertschöpfungspotenzial von über 200 Millarden Euro.

Die DKE arbeitet bereits seit Jahren mit über 800 technischen Experten an den Grundlagen für die Industrie der Zukunft, denn Industrie 4.0 braucht Vernetzung, Sicherheit, Kommunikation, Intelligenz und Vertrauen – für technologischen Fortschritt, wirtschaftlichen Erfolg und Sicherheit für Mensch und Umwelt.

Gestalten Sie gemeinsam mit uns die Zukunft der Industrie!

Webinare zu Industrie 4.0

Publikationen zu Industrie 4.0

Deutsche Normungsroadmap Industrie 4.0

Version 3.0
Veröffentlichungsdatum 20.04.2018
PDF: 9,7 MB

German Standardization Roadmap Industry 4.0

english version 3
Veröffentlichungsdatum 20.04.2018
PDF: 9,2 MB

Security Standards White Paper for Sino-German Industrie 4.0

Veröffentlichungsdatum 20.04.2018
PDF: 4,8 MB

Alignment Report for Reference Architectural Model for Industrie 4.0

Veröffentlichungsdatum 20.04.2018
PDF: 4,2 MB

The Standardisation Roadmap of Predictive Maintenance for Sino-German Industrie 4.0

Veröffentlichungsdatum 20.04.2018
PDF: 1,6 MB

Functional Viewpoint of Application Scenario Value-Based Service

Veröffentlichungsdatum 20.04.2018
PDF: 1,5 MB

BMWi Discussion Paper: Usage Viewpoint of Application Scenario Value-Based Service

Veröffentlichungsdatum 20.04.2018
PDF: 984 KB

Results Paper: Structure of the Administration Shell

Veröffentlichungsdatum 20.04.2018
PDF: 5,9 MB

Economy 4.0 - Publikation

Reflex Verlag
Veröffentlichungsdatum 11.07.2017
PDF: 1,8 MB

National Intelligent Manufacturing Standard System Construction Guidelines

Veröffentlichungsdatum 11.07.2017
PDF: 1,2 MB

Das könnte Sie auch noch interessieren