VDE
2018-08-28 65 0

Translation management

We translate international and European standards from English into German for users of standards in Germany. In the translation management project, we use a database that stores translated and approved texts in both languages so that the content can be reused in similar or different contexts. This raises the efficiency of our extensive translation projects. The quality of the texts is improved through the use of consistent terminology.

Contact

Martina Rischer
Hans-Günter Göring

Motivation

An important and labour-intensive standardization step in Germany is translating the English content prior to its publication as a German standard.

A translation management system is used which stores translated content in translation memories and then automatically retrieves it when the content is reused. This reduces the translation effort involved in cases where documents are re-used, e.g. from draft to finished standard, or when revising standards.

The aim is also to improve the quality of translation.

Results to date

Within the project the DKE collaborates with translation service providers that use a so-called translation management system (TMS), overseen by the DKE. The resulting translation memory compares sentences and sentence segments with existing and previously translated content.

Recent developments

  • Better TMS integration
  • Further optimization of process flows
  • Connection to the Content Management System already selected

VDE
27.10.2017 441 0

Übersetzungsmanagement

Wir übersetzen für die Normanwender in Deutschland Internationale und Europäische Normen aus dem Englischen ins Deutsche. Im Projekt Übersetzungsmanagement nutzen wir eine Datenbank, die übersetzte und freigegebene Texte in beiden Sprachen speichert, um die Inhalte in ähnlichem oder anderem Kontext wiederverwenden zu können. Unsere umfangreichen Übersetzungsprojekte werden so effizienter. Die Qualität der Texte steigt durch konsistente Terminologie.

Kontakt

Martina Rischer
Hans-Günter Göring

Verwandte Themen

Motivation

Ein wesentlicher und arbeitsintensiver Schritt in der Normerstellung ist die Übersetzung der englischen Inhalte vor der Veröffentlichung als deutsche Norm.

Mit einem sogenannten Translation Management System werden übersetzte Inhalte in einer Translation Memory abgelegt und stehen bei einer Wiederverwendung der Inhalte automatisiert zur Verfügung. So verringert sich der Übersetzungsaufwand bei der Weiterverwendung von Dokumenten, z. B. vom Entwurf zur Norm oder bei der Überarbeitung von Normen.

Ebenfalls wird eine Verbesserung der Übersetzungsqualität angestrebt.

Bisherige Ergebnisse

Im Rahmen des Projektes arbeitet die DKE mit Übersetzungsdienstleistern zusammen, die unter Federführung der DKE ein sogenanntes Translation Management System (TMS) nutzen. Das hierbei entstehende Translation Memory vergleicht Sätze und Satzsegmente mit bereits übersetzten und bekannten Inhalten.

Aktuelle Entwicklungen

  • Bessere Integration des TMS
  • Weitere Optimierung von Prozessabläufen
  • Anbindung an das bereits ausgewählte Content Management System