2018-08-28 137 0

Online standardization

There are many process steps and media discontinuities in the current system for drafting standards. Documents are repeatedly sent, processed and forwarded by e-mail. Comment tables are created, sent, consolidated, re-sent, discussed and incorporated into other documents. The many process steps cause long processing and waiting periods. Is this the future of standardization?

Contact

DKE Deutsche Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik in DIN und VDE

Motivation

Our goal is to create a system which results in faster standard production, continuous improvement of content, as well as national and international collaboration between experts.

Standards should in future be written and commented on collaboratively – online. This will make the creation process simpler, faster and easier for everyone involved to use. This optimization will make it possible to develop and publish standards in a shorter space of time.

Results to date

In the pilot project, various committees worked on different documents. This work provided the basis for adding further detail and improvements to the list of requirements. Functions which are important for standardization were identified. The project and the findings were also presented at the IEC General Meeting 2016 and discussed with the IEC community.

The experts involved in the pilot project particularly appreciated the possibility of working jointly on documents, of viewing any changes, and the many opportunities for comments and discussion.

Recent developments

The latest findings are currently being introduced into European and international working groups, which should help speed up the roll-out.

03.11.2017 226 0

Online Standardization

Die bisherige Normerstellung hat viele Prozessschritte und Medienbrüche. Dokumente werden immer wieder per E-Mail versendet, bearbeitet und weiterversendet. Kommentartabellen werden erstellt, versendet, konsolidiert, erneut versendet, beraten und in andere Dokumente eingearbeitet. Die vielen Prozessschritte verursachen lange Durchlauf- und Liegezeiten. Ist das die Zukunft der Normerstellung?

Kontakt

Dominik Nied

Verwandte Themen

Motivation

Unsere Motivation ist eine schnellere Normerstellung, stetige Verbesserung der Inhalte, sowie die nationale und internationale kollaborative Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Experten.

Normen sollten zukünftig kollaborativ und online geschrieben sowie kommentiert werden. Der Erstellungsprozess wird hierdurch für alle Beteiligten einfacher, schneller und leichter zu handhaben sein. Durch diese Optimierung im Ablauf wird es möglich sein, Normen in kürzerer Zeit zu erarbeiten und zu veröffentlichen.

Bisherige Ergebnisse

Im Rahmen eines Pilotprojektes wurde in verschiedenen Gremien an unterschiedlichen Dokumenten gearbeitet und damit die Liste der Anforderungen immer weiter detailliert und verbessert. Für die Normung wichtige Funktionen wurden identifiziert. Das Projekt und die Erkenntnisse wurden auch im Rahmen des IEC General Meeting 2016 präsentiert und mit der IEC Community diskutiert.

Seitens der im Pilotprojekt beteiligten Experten wurde insbesondere die gemeinsame Arbeit an einem Dokument, die Darstellung von Änderungen und die vielfältigen Kommentierungs- und Diskussionsmöglichkeiten geschätzt.

Aktuelle Entwicklungen

Die bisher gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden aktuell in europäischen und internationalen Arbeitskreisen eingebracht und sollen so zu einer schnellen Umsetzung beitragen.