VDE
2017-04-28 106 0

Content Management System

We are changing the production of standards over to XML (Extensible Markup Language). This enables experts and standards users to use the content flexibly and with no media discontinuity. A prerequisite for the switchover is the introduction of an XML-based content management system.

Contact

Johannes Stein

Motivation

The aim is to establish a digital process with no media discontinuity for the creation and publication of standards and documents. The structured representation in XML allows format-independent editing of standard content and thus direct use in various new publication channels. The content is stored in modularized form in a content management system; it can then be enriched with specific metadata. This will enable new ways of presenting standards in the future, and give rise to new products and services for the users of standards.

Results to date

  • Specification of a target process for using a CMS
  • Selection of a CMS system provider

Recent developments

In 2017, the system was specified and implemented for use in standardization. Training and functional tests were carried out on a test system. First in the Production department, later also in DKE Technology.

Productive work began at the start of 2018; all processes are gradually being switched over to the new system.

VDE
28.04.2017 358 0

Content Management System

Wir  stellen unsere Normenproduktion auf den Standard XML (Extensible Markup Language) um. Damit machen wir die Inhalte für Experten und Normanwender medienbruchfrei und flexibel nutzbar. Voraussetzung für die Umstellung ist die Einführung eines XML-basierten Content Management Systems.

Kontakt

Johannes Stein

Verwandte Themen

Motivation

Ziel ist es, einen digitalen und medienbruchfreien Prozess bei der Erstellung und Veröffentlichung von Normen und Dokumenten zu etablieren. Die strukturierte Darstellung in XML erlaubt eine formatunabhängige Bearbeitung der Norminhalte und damit die direkte Verwendung in verschiedenen neuen Publikationskanälen. In einem Content Management System werden die Inhalte modularisiert gespeichert und können durch Metadaten gezielt angereichert werden. Dieses ermöglicht perspektivisch neue Darstellungsformen der Normen sowie neue Produkte und Services für den Normennutzer.

Bisherige Ergebnisse

  • Spezifikation eines Zielprozesses zur Nutzung eines CMS
  • Auswahl eines CMS-Systemanbieters

Aktuelle Entwicklungen

In 2017 wurde das System für die Anwendung in der Normung spezifiziert und implementiert. Es fanden Schulungen und Funktionstests auf einem Testsystem statt. Zuerst im Bereich Production, später auch im Bereich DKE-Technology.

Seit Anfang 2018 wird auf dem Produktivsystem gearbeitet, auf das nach und nach sämtliche Arbeiten überführt werden.